Genbukan is a school of Japanese martial arts, and one of the three X-kan. The incumbent Grandmaster is Shoto Tanemura. The Genbukan World Ninpo Bugei Federation or GWNBF (originally Ninpo Bugei Dojo, Genbukan) was founded in 1984 by its present “Soke” (Grandmaster) Shoto Tanemura, a descendant of an old and respected samurai family with roots tracing back to the imperial family of Japan.

The name Genbukan (玄武館)means the place that nurtures the professional martial artist. The phrase Genbukan World Ninpo Bugei Federation, its abbreviation GWNBF and Genbukan are interchangeable. However only Honbu Dojo may refer to itself as Ninpo Bugei Dojo, Genbukan (忍法武芸道場、玄武館).

The GWNBF is an international organization in scope with in excess of a hundred dojos and many thousands of students throughout the world. Soke Tanemura is also head of three sister organisations, the Kokusai Ju-Jutsu Renmei or ‘KJJR’ (International Ju-Jutsu Federation), a sister organization dedicated to the factual portrayal, propagation and preservation of traditional Japanese jujutsu, Koryu Karate an organisation dedicated to the factual portrayal of a form of Koryu Karate, and the Amatsu Tatara Bumon shumon, based on the ancient spiritual martial arts.

With the advent of the KJJR, the Genbukan’s specific purpose is the factual portrayal, propagation and preservation of Genbukan Ninpo Bugei.

Structure: The Genbukan Ninpo Bugei is divided in 36 categories called the “Ninja Sanjurokkei” focusing on taijutsu, bojutsu, bikenjutsu and equally importantly Seishinteki Kyoyo or spiritual refinement. Other topics of study include but are not limited to yumi-ya, naginata, yari, jutte, kusari-gama, shuriken etc. Importance is also placed upon Reigi Saho or manners within the Genbukan.

Genbukan Ninpo taijutsu consists mainly of dakentaijutsu, jutaijutsu, koppojutsu, kosshijutsu, and taihenjutsu. Daken-Taijutsu specializes in striking techniques including blocks, punches and kicks etc. Jutai-Jutsu focuses mainly on throwing techniques, joint manipulation, locks and chokes.

Kosshi and Koppo Jutsu are specialized techniques dealing with nerve or pressure point attacks and bone breaking among other things. Taihen-Jutsu deals with body movement and body placement enabling one to effectively null or avoid an attackers motions completely.

Rank: The ranking system for Genbukan Ninpo Taijutsu is from 10th kyu (also known as mu-kyu) through to 1st kyu and then from sho-dan (1st dan) through to 10th dan. The ranking system for weapons is dependent upon the weapon and varies between a traditional system of licenses and modern 10th kyu – 10th dan system.

Persons of rank 4th dan and above may open a shibu-dojo (branch dojo) although in special cases it is possible to open a dojo with a lower rank. Upon reaching the rank of 4th dan one may specialise in any ryu or school of which Tanemura is the soke of (24 ryu-ha).


  • Hontai Yoshin Takagi Ryu Jujutsu – 18th Soke
  • Hontai Kukishin Ryu Bojutsu – 18th Soke
  • Gikan Ryu Koppo-Jutsu – 14th Soke
  • Asayama Ichiden Ryu Taijutsu – 18th Soke
  • Tenshin Hyoho Kukishin-Ryu – 18th Soke
  • Amatsu Tatara Bumon & Shumon – 58th Soke
  • Shinden Tatara Ryu Taijutsu – 55th Soke
  • Shinden Kito Ryu Bojutsu – 55th Soke
  • Bokuden Ryu Jujutsu – 15th Soke
  • Itten Ryushin Chukai Ryu Jujutsu – 3rd Soke
  • Chinese Martial Art Hakkesho – 5th Denjin
  • Araki Shin Ryu – Menkyo Kaiden
  • Yagyu Shingan Kacchu Yawara – Menkyo Kaiden
  • Tenshin Koryu / Shindo Tenshin Ryu Kenpo – Menkyo Kaiden
  • Kijin Chosui Ryu Daken-Taijutsu – Menkyo Kaiden
  • Daito Ryu Aiki Jujutsu Yamamoto-Ha – Menkyo Kaiden
  • Mugen Shinto Ryu Iai-Jutsu – Menkyo Kaiden
  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Daken-Taijutsu Tanemura-Ha – Soke
  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Taijutsu Tanemura-Ha – Soke
  • Kukishinden Happo Biken-Jutsu Tanemura-Ha – Soke
  • Togakure Ryu Ninpo Tanemura-Ha – Soke
  • Gyokko Ryu Kosshi-Jutsu Tanemura-Ha – Soke
  • Koto Ryu Koppo-Jutsu Tanemura-Ha – Soke